Daily Archives: August 29, 2014

“So what do you do when you are stuck? T

“So what do you do when you are stuck?

The first thing I do when I am stuck is pray. But I’m not talking about a quick, Help me Lord, Sunday’s a comin’ prayer. When I get stuck I get up from my desk to head for my closet. Literally. If I‘m at the office I go over to a corner that I have deemed my closet away from home. I get on my knees and remind God that this was not my idea, it was His…

None of this is new information to God…

Then I ask God to show me if there is something He wants to say to prepare me for what He wants me to communicate to our congregation. I surrender my ideas, my outline and my topic. Then I just stay in that quiet place until God quiets my heart…

Many times I will have a breakthrough thought or idea that brings clarity to my message. . .

Like you, I am simply a mouthpiece. Getting stuck is one way God keeps me ever conscious of that fact.”
– Andy Stanley, Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

“If you change your thinking, you change

“If you change your thinking, you change your life!” @JohnCMaxwell

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

“The first duty of love is to listen”

“The first duty of love is to listen” – Paul Tillich

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Do not fear, for I am with you; do not b

Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. – Isaiah 41:10

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

“I remember teachers who really singled

“I remember teachers who really singled me out for their discouragement.” – Francis Ford Coppola

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized